US Dept of Labor

Occupational Safety & Health AdministrationWe Can Help

Whistle

The Whistleblower Protection Program

Whistleblower Protection Advisory Committee

WPAC was established to advise, consult with, and make recommendations to the Secretary of Labor and the Assistant Secretary of Labor for Occupational Safety and Health on ways to improve the fairness, efficiency, effectiveness, and transparency of OSHA's administration of whistleblower protections. In particular, the committee advises OSHA on the development and implementation of improved customer service models, enhancements in the investigative and enforcement process, training, and regulations governing OSHA investigations. In addition, WPAC advises OSHA in cooperative activities with other federal agencies that are responsible for areas covered by the whistleblower protection statutes enforced by OSHA.

WPAC is comprised of twelve voting members, with four members representing a management, four members representing labor, one member representing State OSH Plan states, and three members representing the public. Non-voting members include representatives from three Federal Government agencies that have jurisdiction over statutes with whistleblower provisions. All members of WPAC were appointed by Secretary Solis and will serve two-year terms. The committee will meet at least twice a year.

Charter

Current Membership (March 2014)

PUBLIC REPRESENTATIVES
Emily Spieler*
Edwin W. Hadley
Professor of Law
Northeastern University School of Law
400 Huntington Ave.
Boston, MA 02115
Phone: Please use email
Email: e.spieler@neu.edu
Richard Moberly
Associate Dean for Faculty and Professor of Law
University of Nebraska
College of Law
103 McCollum Hall
P.O. Box 830902
Lincoln, NE 68583-0902
Phone: 402-472-1256
Email: rmoberly2@unl.edu
Jonathan Brock
Emeritus Faculty Member (Retired)
University of Washington
Phone: 206-616-5817
Email: jbrock@u.washington.edu
 
MANAGEMENT REPRESENTATIVES
David Eherts
Vice President Global EHS
Actavis Pharmaceuticals
Morris Corporate Center III
400 Interpace Parkway
Parsippany, NJ 07054
Phone: 862-261-7495
Email: David.Eherts@Actavis.com
Gregory Keating
Shareholder
Littler Mendelson, PC
1 International Place, Suite 2700
Boston, MA 02110
Phone: 617-378-6000
Email: gkeating@littler.com
Marcia Narine
St. Thomas University School of Law
16401 NW 37th Avenue
Miami Gardens, FL 33054
Phone: 305-474-2425
Email: mnarine@stu.edu
Kenneth Wengert
Director, Safety and Environmental
Kraft Goods Group
Three Lakes Drive
Northfield, IL 60093
Phone: 847-646-0859
Email: KWengert@Kraftfoods.com
LABOR REPRESENTATIVES
Ava Barbour
Associate General Counsel
International Unions, UAW
8000 East Jefferson Ave.
Detroit, MI 48214
Phone: 313-926-5216
Email: abarbour@uaw.net
Eric Frumin
H&S Director
Change to Win
110 William St.
Room 1201
New York, NY 10038
Phone: 212-341-7065
Email: eric.frumin@changetowin.org
Billie Garde
Attorney
Clifford & Garde, LLP
1707 L Street NW, Suite 500
Washington, DC 20036
Phone: 202-280-6116
Email: bpgarde@aol.com
Nancy Lessin
Program Coordinator
Steelworkers' Charitable and Educational Organization
c/o Health, Safety and Environment
Department Rm. 902
United Steelworkers International Union
5 Gateway Center
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Phone: 412-562-2581
Email: nlessin@uswtmc.org
STATE PLAN REPRESENTATIVE
Christine Dougherty
Principal Discrimination Investigator
State of MN
443 Lafayette Rd. N.
St. Paul, MN 55155
Phone: 651-284-5051
Email: osha.compliance@state.mn.us
     
FEDERAL AGENCY REPRESENTATIVES
Rina Tucker Harris
Enforcement Attorney
Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
Office of Enforcement
1700 G Street NW
Washington, DC 20552
Phone: 202-435-9196
Email: Rina.harris@cfpb.gov
Adam Miles
Director, Policy and Congressional Affairs
U.S. Office of Special Counsel
1730 M Street, NW, Suite 218
Washington, DC 20036-4505
Phone: 202-254-3607
Email: amiles@osc.gov
VACANT  
OSHA COMMITTEE CONTACTS
Laura Seeman
Designated Federal Officer
Division Chief, Field Operations
Directorate of Whistleblower Protection Programs
OSHA-DOL
Room N-4624
Phone: 202-693-2230
Fax: 202-693-2403
Email: seeman.laura@dol.gov
Edmund C. Baird
Committee Counsel
Office of the Solicitor, USDOL
Room S- 4004
Phone: (202) 693-5460
Fax: (202) 693-5466
Email: baird.edmund@dol.gov
Meghan Smith
Program Analyst
Directorate of Whistleblower Protection Programs
OSHA-USDOL
Room N-4624
Phone: (202) 693-2519
Fax: (202) 693-2403
Email: smith.meghan.p@dol.gov
Ms. Frances Owens
(Travel)
OSHA, Office of Communications
Room N-3647
Phone: (202) 693-1999
Fax: (202) 693-1634
Email: owens.frances@dol.gov

*Chair

Meeting Agenda, Minutes and Transcripts

Full Committee

March 11, 2014

January 29, 2013

Work Groups

11(c)

Transportation Industry

Best Practices and Corporate Culture

Work Groups

11(C)

Best Practices and Corporate Culture

Transportation Industry


*Accessibility Assistance: Contact OSHA's Directorate of Whistleblower Protection Programs at 202-693-2199 for assistance accessing PDF materials.

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor’s Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close